The Spring Meeting of Young Economists (SMYE) is the annual conference of the EAYE. Its main objective is to help young economists present their work, get constructive feedback from their peers, create opportunities to strengthen their research and build their network.

To offer a relaxed atmosphere and to prevent the anonymity large conferences might suffer from, the number of presenters is limited to 200. Therefore, admittance to the conference is highly competitive and the acceptance rate is around 30%. Decisions are entirely based on research quality as assessed through a double-blind review process with external reviewers. The casual atmosphere of the SMYE thus goes together with the excellence of presenters coming from the best universities and institutions worldwide.

Furthermore, the SMYE invites every year a couple of senior researchers to address the SMYE participants. We are proud that many excellent researchers, including Nobel Laureates, have participated in the SMYE!


2022 - Orleans, France (University of Orleans) ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท

  • Keynote Speakers: Stephane Bonhomme, Christian Brownlees, Kalina Manova

  • Best Paper Award: Adam Lee (UPF): "Robust and Efficient Inference for Non-Regular Semiparametric Models"

  • SMYE 2022 Website

2021 - Bologna, Italy (University of Bologna) ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น

  • Keynote Speakers: Davide Cantoni, Paola Conconi, Juan Dolado, James M. Snyder, Jr

  • Best Paper Award for 2020 submissions: Anna Ignatenko (LMU Munich): "Price Discrimination in International Transportation: Evidence and Implications"

  • Best Paper Award for 2021 submissions: Duarte Gonรงalves (Columbia University): "Sequential Sampling and Equilibrium"

  • SMYE 2021 Website

2019 - Brussels, Belgium (Universitรฉ Libre de Bruxelles) ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช

  • Keynote Speakers: Michael D. Bordo, Paul Collier, David K. Levine and Eric S. Maskin

  • Best Paper Award: Marius Faber (University of Basel): "Robots and Reshoring: Evidence from Mexican Local Labor Markets"

  • SMYE 2019 Website

  • YouTube Videos of the Keynote Speechers can be found here.

2018 - Palma, Spain (University of Balearic Islands) ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ

  • Keynote Speakers: Margaret Meyer, Pol Antrร s, and Manuel Arellano

  • Best Paper Award: Florian Wozny (IZA Bonn): "The Human Capital Cost of Radiation: Long-Run Evidence from Exposure Outside the Womb"

  • SMYE 2018 Website

  • Statistics about the submitted papers and the final participants can be found here.

2017 - Halle, Germany (Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg and Halle Institute for Economic Research) ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช

  • Keynote Speakers: Jordi Gali, Georg Weizsรคcker, Uwe Sunde, Barbara Rossi

  • Best Paper Award: Christoph Albert (UPF): "The Labor Market Impact of Immigration: Job Creation versus Job Competition"

  • SMYE 2017 Website

2016 - Lisbon, Portugal (ISCTE-IUL Lisbon) ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡น

  • Keynote Speakers: Robert Frank, Jan Fagerberg, Mirjam van Praag, Pedro Portugal

  • SMYE 2016 Website

2015 - Ghent, Belgium (Ghent University) ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช

  • Keynote Speakers: Jean Tirole, Rachel Griffith, Thorsten Beck, Paul Klemperer

  • Best Paper Award: Wanyu Chung (University of Nottingham): "Imported Inputs and Invoicing Currency Choice: Theory and Evidence from UK Transaction Data"

  • SMYE 2015 Website

2014 - Vienna, Austria (Vienna University of Economics and Business) ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡น

2013 - Aarhus, Denmark (Aarhus University) ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ

  • Keynote Speakers: Peter Neary, Paul De Grauwe, Jacques Thisse, Dale Mortensen

  • SMYE 2013 Website

2012 - Mannheim, Germany (ZEW Center for European Economic Research) ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช

  • Keynote Speakers: Mary Amity, Armin Falk, Ayhan Kose

2011 - Groningen, Netherlands (University of Groningen) ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ

  • Keynote Speakers: Joshua Angrist, Annamaria Lusardi, Frank Smets

2010 - Luxembourg, Luxembourg (CEPS/INSEAD and University of Luxembourg) ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡บ

  • Keynote Speakers: Galina Hale, Tito Boeri

2009 - Istanbul, Turkey (Marmara University) ๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ท

  • Keynote Speakers: Karim Abadir, Gabriel Talmain, Mehmet Balcilar

2008 - Lille, France (University of Lille 2) ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท

  • Keynote Speaker: Omer Moav

2007 - Hamburg, Germany (University of Hamburg) ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช

  • Keynote Speakers: Ariel Rubinstein, Stephen J. Turnovsky, Patrick Francois

2006 - Seville, Spain (Centro de Estudios Andaluces, University Pablo de Olavide and University of Seville) ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ

  • Keynote Speakers: Anindya Banerjee, Robin Boadway

2005 - Geneva, Switzerland (Graduate Institute of International Studies, HEI) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ

  • Keynote Speakers: Anirudh L. Nagar, Helene Rey

2004 - Warsaw, Poland (Warsaw University) ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ

  • Keynote Speakers: Tony Atkinson, Katerina Juselius

2003 - Leuven, Belgium (University of Leuven) ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช

  • Keynote Speakers: Paul DeGrauwe, Jean-Philippe Platteau, Mark Rosenzweig

2002 - Paris, France (University Paris 1) ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท

  • Keynote Speakers: Richard Blundell, Roger Guesnerie

2001 - Copenhagen, Denmark (University of Copenhagen) ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ

  • Keynote Speakers: Philippe Aghion, Martin Browning

2000 - Oxford, United Kingdom (University of Oxford) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง

  • Keynote Speakers: Paul Klemperer, Jean Tirole

1999 - Amsterdam, Netherlands (University of Amsterdam) ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ

  • Keynote Speaker: Peter Diamond

1998 - Berlin, Germany (Humboldt University) ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช

  • Keynote Speaker: Bob Aumann

1997 - Munich, Germany (University of Munich) ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช

1996 - Essen, Germany (University of Essen) ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช